Erik Laykin

Managing Director, Practice Lead, Global Data Risk, Duff & Phelps Los Angeles

Erik Laykin is a managing director and testifying expert witness in the Disputes practice of Duff & Phelps, based in Los Angeles. Erik is a cyber security/electronic discovery/computer forensic authority and an internationally recognised expert in the reactive investigation and analysis of trade secret theft, cyber crime, electronic fraud, data breaches, trademark, patent and systems design infringement/failure, online piracy, corporate espionage and other complex information technology disputes.

Erik established the Duff & Phelps computer forensic/eDiscovery and cyber practices in 2008 and has remained a leader in the firm’s efforts in complex data management, technology disputes and mitigating emerging risks to corporations. Erik directs large-scale and discreet investigations and electronic discovery engagements, often with an emphasis on cases involving foreign jurisdictions. As a result of his investigations, expert testimony and independent Special Master appointments, Erik and his teams have successfully solved/resolved cases valued in the billions of dollars on behalf of Fortune 100 companies in the United States, Europe and throughout Asia.

Prior to joining Duff & Phelps, Erik was the founding chair of the Information Technology Investigations practice at an international consulting firm. In the mid-1990s, Erik founded OnlineSecurity, Inc., one of the world’s first information technology investigation and computer forensics firms and pioneered groundbreaking investigative techniques, providing highly specialised technology services for major international law firms and leading traditional investigative companies.

Erik is the author of “Investigative Computer Forensics” and is a Certified Hacking Forensic Investigator as well as an active member of several American Bar Association committees. He is the chairman of the Electronic Commerce Council and has been a long-time member of the United States Secret Service Electronic Crimes Task Force. Erik is also the past President and Pacific Rim Director of the FBI’s Infragard Program and has participated on a number of advisory boards, including the California Judicial Council’s Subcommittee on Digital Evidence and the California Department of Insurance Fraud Task Force. Erik regularly comments on legal and technology matters at industry conferences and for the media, including CNN, FOX, ABC, NBC and CBS.

Where you can see them

March 10, 1:30 pm - 5:00 pm

Business Strategies Block

1.30 – 3.00 pm | The Energy Transition from the CEO’s Office Roundtable
Speakers: Andrew Bills, Kumar Padisetti and Richard Van Breda
Top industry leaders will discuss and debate the high-level strategies needed to meet the challenges of the energy transition


3.00 – 3.30 pm | Using Data to Manage Power Quality in a Decarbonised and Decentralised World
Speaker: Richard McIndoe
One of the most critical aspect of managing the energy transition is monitoring LV networks and behind the meter activity. Realtime data is critical in this effort.


3.30 – 4.00 pm | The Strategic Urgency for Cyber Security
Speaker: Erik Laykin
An expert from the United States provides a comprehensive over-view of issues and challenges of preventing a breach of cyber security.


4.00 – 4.30 pm | A Case Study on Using Big Data to Optimise Plant Management During the Energy Transition
Speaker: Uniper
A case study of how the Enerlytics platform uses big data to optimise plant management during the energy transition.


4.30 – 5.00 pm | Strategies for Managing Customer Engagement and the Network
Speaker: Ruchika Deora
Customer engagement is critical in the new paradigm but needs to be aligned closely with network management, a highly complex endeavour.


Location: Enlit Australia Summit

View Session

Stephanie Bashir

Founder, Nexa Advisory

Ron Beatty

Principal Adviser, Electricity Authority of New Zealand

Andrew Bills

Chief Executive Officer, CS Energy

Luigi Bonadio

Director, Luigi Bonadio & Associates

Mark Bonnar

Managing Director, Southern Cross Venture Partners

Dr Julio Braslavsky

Principal Research Scientist, CSIRO

Tim Buckley

Director of Energy Finance Studies, Australasia at Institute for Energy Economics & Financial Analysis (IEEFA)

Omar Castrejon Campos

PhD-Engineering Student, The University of Melbourne

Matthew Charles-Jones

Community Lead - Renewable Energy, Mondo

Amy Childs

Managing Director, Momentum Energy

Chris Cunningham

Principal, Covaris

Dr Glen Currie

Senior Tutor, The University of Melbourne

The Hon. Lily D’Ambrosio

Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change and Minister for Solar Homes

Ruchika Deora

Strategic Marketing Manager, CitiPower, Powercor and United Energy

Tracy Deveugle-Frink

Head of Change and Innovation, Western Power

Chris Dunston

Chief Research Officer, Race for 2030 CRC

Jason Froud

Policy Manager, Synergy

Alex Georgiou

Co-Founder and CEO, ShineHub

Robert Giglio

Senior Vice President, Sumitomo SHI FW

John Grimes

Chief Executive, Smart Energy Council | CEO, Australia Solar Council

Christopher Gwynne

Program Director Battery of the Nation Initiative, Hydro Tasmania

Sheri Hickok

Chief Executive Officer - Onshore Wind Asia Pacific & China, GE Renewable Energy

Zoltan Kelly

Asset Information Improvement Specialist, Melbourne Water

Ji Hwan Kim

Supervisor, Korea South-East Power CO (KOEN)

Benjy Lee

Manager Energy and Carbon Policy, Jemena

Richard Lowe

Executive General Manager Business Growth, TransGrid

Professor Pierluigi Mancarella

Chair of Electrical Power Systems Electrical And Electronic Engineering, The University of Melbourne

Rob Mannion

Manager Digital Experience, Sydney Water

Michael Maranta

Director, MGM Co.

Andrew McConnell

Senior Engineer, Distributed Energy, AusNet Services

Richard McIndoe

Executive Chairman, Edge Electrons

Lisa McLean

CEO, Open Cities Alliance | Chief Executive Officer, NSW Circular

Sarah McNamara

Chief Executive, Australian Energy Council

Darren Miller

Chief Executive Officer, Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA)

Dr Reihana Mohideen

Senior Research Fellow, The University of Melbourne

Terry Mohn

Chair, International Microgrid Association

Tim Nelson

Executive General Manager, Energy Markets, Infigen Energy

Lachlan O’Neil

Team Leader Energy Data Sciences, CSIRO

Kumar Padisetti

Partner, Deloitte

Asanka Paranamana

Distributed Energy Engineer, AusNet Services

Professor Nando Ochoa Pizzali

Professor of Smart Grids and Power Systems, The University of Melbourne

David Prins

Director, Etrog Consulting

Stephen Quilter

Executive General Manager Energy Trading and Commercial Strategy, Stanwell Corporation Limited

Nic Reardon

Annual Works Plan Manager, WEL Networks

Andrew Richards

Chief Executive Officer, Energy Users Association of Australia

Justine Ryan

Global Director, GE Renewable Energy

Maia Schweizer

Chief Executive Officer, CleanCo Queensland

João Segorbe

Executive General Manager Strategy & Corporate Development, AGL Energy

James Seymour

CEO, Center for New Energy Technologies (C4NET)

Paul Siemers

Program Director - Digital Transformation, Melbourne Water

Dr Robert Simpson

Demand Management Development Manager, Ausgrid

Vikram Singh

Lead Advisor Low Carbon Transformation, Australian Gas Infrastructure Group (AGIG)

Richard Van Breda

Chief Executive Officer, Stanwell Corporation Limited

Oliver Yates

Non Executive Director, Smart Energy Council

Victor Young

General Manager Commercial & Industrial Energy Services, Yurika

Frank Zeichner

Chief Executive Officer, IoT Alliance Australia

Audrey Zibelman

Chief Executive Officer, Australian Energy Market Operator

Sponsors & Partners

Join our mailing list

Join Our Community

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.