Terry Mohn

CEO, General Microgrids

Terry Mohn is a global energy expert using smart grid and renewable energy generation to address energy poverty and industrial energy reliability. He is the CEO of General Microgrids, Inc, a global end-to-end solution provider for renewable energy technologies and transformational microgrid development; and was previously Chairman of The International Microgrid Association, a coalition of members of the global microgrid value chain established in Perth, Western Australia. He has also been the Contracting General Manager of Advanced Developments at Horizon Power, a State Government-owned, electric utility across regional and remote Western Australia.

Previously, Terry provided smart grid and microgrid corporate strategy and development for OATI, the US power industry’s most prestigious electric merchant market-making software company. He also served as chairman of the Microgrid Alliance, an international non-profit advocacy group and chairman of the mini-grid work team in United Nations Foundation “Sustainability for All”. Terry was previously VP and Chief Innovation Officer of BAE Systems energy business and Chief Technology Strategist for the Sempra Energy utilities, with emphasis on smart grid.

Terry specializes in clean energy and the improvement of electricity delivery by using modern technology. He has 30 years’ experience in large-scale system architecture, business strategy, and technology investment strategy. Terry also specializes in the business integration of technologies, primarily supporting smart grid, home automation systems, communication systems, distribution automation, smart metering, demand response, and sense and control. He also is very involved in technology research, funding and commercialization and works closely with major universities. Terry was a founding member and served four years as Vice Chairman of the GridWise Alliance, a consortium of public and private stakeholders who share a vision and stewardship that the US nation’s electric system must modernize for the country to remain competitive on the world market.

Prior to his energy roles, Terry was chief technology officer for an international broadband media company and founder of two Internet companies.

Where you can see them

March 16, 1:30 pm - 4:00 pm

Grid Edge

1.30 – 2.00 pm | What DERMs Technology Means for a Utility
Speaker: Terry Mohn
DERMs is a concept that everyone embraces. But are what the real implications?


2.00 – 2.30 pm | The Role of DERMs in a Regulated Environment
Speaker: Jason Froud
There is much discussion surrounding the move of regulated network companies into new areas and how it impacts there planning.


2.30 – 3.00 pm | Standardising Grid Edge Solutions
Speaker: Andrew McConnell
Emerging solutions are always exciting but often unwieldy and this requires the development of standards.


3.00 – 3.30 pm | Secure Power on the Edge of the Grid
Speaker: Matthew Charles-Jones
Methods of ensuring reliable power in tandem with grid edge solutions is a critical industry imperative.


3.30 – 4.00 pm | Wood Pole Asset Management – A Preventative Approach
Speaker: Lindsay Taylor
Often overlooked but essential to managing the network are traditional assets.


Location: Transmission & Distribution Hub

View Session

Leadership Summit

Sponsored by Salesforce

David Hochschild (USA)

Chair at California Energy Commission

Karl Rábago (USA)

Principal, Rábago Energy LLC
Former Commissioner, Texas Public Utility Commission
Vice President of Distributed Energy Services at Austin Energy

The Hon. Lily D’Ambrosio

Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change and Minister for Solar Homes

Andrew Bills

Chief Executive Officer, CS Energy

Anna Collyer

Chair, Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC)

Darren Hill

General Manager for Commercial & Business Development, Horizon Power

Richard Lowe

CEO, Lumea

Ramesh Singaram

President & CEO GE Gas Power Asia Pacific, President & CEO GE ASEAN & ANP at GE

João Segorbe

Executive General Manager Strategy & Corporate Development, AGL Energy

Jon Briskin

Executive General Manager, Origin Retail

Jeffrey Goldmeer

Emergent Technologies Director - Decarbonization, GE Gas & Power

Gordon Wymer

Chief Commercial Officer, Snowy Hydro

Mark Brownfield

Chief Customer Officer, EnergyAustralia

Rupesh Ratilal

Senior Manager, Technology Transformation, EY

Deepak Sambhi

Director, Power KPMG

Sarah McNamara

Chief Executive, Australian Energy Council

Tim Nelson

Executive General Manager, Energy Markets, Infigen Energy

Dan Sturrock

Investment Director, ARENA

Tim Buckley

Director of Energy Finance Studies, Australasia at Institute for Energy Economics & Financial Analysis (IEEFA)

Oliver Yates

Non Executive Director, Smart Energy Council

Aaron Scott

Country Leader, GE Gas Power

Jessica Venning-Bryan

Chief Customer Officer, Flux Federation

Patrick Hartley

Leader, CSIRO Hydrogen Industry Mission at CSIRO

Richard Jeffery

General Manager Commercial Strategy Delivery at Stanwell Corporation Limited

Neil Roberts

General Manager (Australia), Highview Power

Matthew Fairlie

Vice Chairman, Next Hydrogen

Kumar Padisetti

Senior Managing Partner, FTI Consulting

Lisa McLean

CEO, Open Cities Alliance | Chief Executive Officer, NSW Circular

Tim Ryan

Chief Executive Officer, Ready.Energy

Mike Davis

Network Innovation Manager, Jemena

Caroline Wykamp

Chief Commercial Officer Hydro Tasmania & Director Momentum Energy

Jamal Cheema

Executive General Manager of Intellihub Australia

Andrew Davis

General Manager Strategy and Commercial, Electricity Distribution, Jemena

Richard Porter

Principal Engineer, Simulation, Yokogowa

Nic Reardon

Annual Works Plan Manager, WEL Networks

Javier Cavada

Chief Executive Officer & President, Highview Power

Michael Bradley

Executive General Manager, Retail and Wholesale Markets, Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC)

Dr Robert Simpson

Demand Management Development Manager, Ausgrid

Tracy Deveugle-Frink

Head of Change and Innovation, Western Power

Andrew McConnell

Senior DSO/DERMS Engineer, CitiPower, Powercor & United Energy

Glenn Wood

Head of Telecommunications, TransGrid

Vikram Singh

Lead Advisor Low Carbon Transformation, Australian Gas Infrastructure Group (AGIG)

Andrew Richards

Chief Executive Officer, Energy Users Association of Australia

Ron Beatty

Principal Adviser, Electricity Authority of New Zealand

John Grimes

Chief Executive, Smart Energy Council | CEO, Australia Solar Council

Mark Bonnar

Managing Director, Southern Cross Venture Partners

Dr Julio Braslavsky

Principal Research Scientist, CSIRO

Matthew Charles-Jones

Community Lead - Renewable Energy, Mondo

James Seymour

CEO, Center for New Energy Technologies (C4NET)

Chris Cunningham

Principal, Covaris

Lachlan O’Neil

Team Leader Energy Data Sciences, CSIRO

Chris Dunstan

Chief Research Officer, Race for 2030 CRC

Jason Froud

Policy Manager, Synergy

Lindsay Taylor

Group Business Development Manager, TEN Group (The Energy Network)

Alex Georgiou

Co-Founder and CEO, ShineHub

Luigi Bonadio

Principal/Director, Luigi Bonadio & Associates

Zoltan Kelly

Asset Information Improvement Specialist, Melbourne Water

Ji Hwan Kim

Supervisor, Korea South-East Power CO (KOEN)

David Prins

Director, Etrog Consulting

Stephanie Bashir

Founder, Nexa Advisory

Frank Zeichner

Chief Executive Officer, IoT Alliance Australia

Sponsors & Partners

Join our mailing list

Join Our Community

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.